What’s true and what’s false about California’s exhaust noise law

3
1748
SEMA is addressing concerns about the California exhaust noise law. | Pixabay photo
SEMA is addressing concerns about the California exhaust noise law. | Pixabay photo

The automotive world gave a stir this month when some California motorists began getting fined for having an exhaust system that was too loud.

Rumors about the law and its effect on the sale of aftermarket exhausts worried some in the industry, but the Special Equipment Market Association — better known as SEMA — is working to assuage some of the concerns.

In a news release, the organization said the law concerning exhaust noise louder than 95 decibels was put into place in May of 1998, meaning it has been around for more than 20 years.

What changed recently was the passage of California Assembly Bill 1824. The bill, signed into law last year by then-Gov. Jerry Brown, requires police officers issue an immediate fine for a violation instead of a 30-day notice to correct the issue.

Some automotive blogs claimed the fines levied against violators have been in the $1,000 range. However, SEMA said the base fine for a first-time conviction is much lower: $25 with a total fee of $193.

Christian Robinson, who heads SEMA’s political action committee, said motorists have the right to fight the fine in court if they can prove the exhaust is under the 95-decibel mark.

“You still have due process under the law in California to demonstrate you’re in compliance with the law using an objective test,” he said Friday.

RELATED:  Toyota dominates at Le Mans

Motorists accused of violating the noise law can get a certificate of compliance from the SEMA-sponsored California Bureau of Automotive Repair that shows the exhaust is not louder than 95 decibels and use it to fight the fine in court. The exhaust test costs $108.

Additionally, the tweak to the law did not make it illegal to add aftermarket exhaust systems to vehicles.

“The sale and installation of an aftermarket exhaust system remains legal in California so long as it does not exceed a sound level of 95 decibels,” SEMA said in the release.

Note: This story has been revised. The original version said the ticket can be corrected and the fine avoided, which is untrue. Instead, motorists have the option to fight the fine in court.

Advertisement
Carter Nacke is a graduate of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University. He began his career at KTAR News 92.3 FM in Phoenix, the largest news radio station in Arizona, where he specialized in breaking news and politics. A burgeoning interest in classic cars took him to the Journal in 2018. He's still on the hunt for his dad's old 1969 Camaro.

3 COMMENTS

  1. You and SEMA are both wrong; Christian Robinson at SEMA is aware of this and will be issuing a correction soon. You can google ‘AB 1824’ , ‘CVC 40610’ and do your own research. AB 1824 added section b4 to California Vehicle Code section 40610, making any violation of Vehicle Code sections 27150 (a) or Section 27151(a) no longer a fix-it-ticket.

    If you believe what you wrote, what do you think AB 1824 changed?

    • Hi, Ed. Thanks for commenting. I’ve revised the story and reached out to SEMA for a response. Thank you for pointing this out!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here