HomeCar CultureGone, but not forgotten

Gone, but not forgotten

Remembering those in the classic car community who left us in 2020


As we begin a new year, we take time to remember some of those in the classic car community who left us in 2020 (presented here in chronological order of their passing):

William Motta, former art director at Road & Track magazine

Gary Ronberg, NASA scientist and Chrysler racing engineer

Giancarlo Morbidelli, motorcycle racer and museum owner

Erhard Schnell, Opel designer and “father” of the Opel GT

Bill Fink, Morgan importer

Clive Cussler, author and car collector

Thom Bryant, long-time editor of Road & Track magazine

Kirk F. White, collector car auction founder, Ferrari dealer, car guy

Larry Rathgeb, Chrysler engineer who developed Dodge Charger Daytona

Rod Campbell, pioneer in automotive public relations

“Uncle” Phil Maloof, Las Vegas car collector

Tommy Morrison, sports car racer

Bob Fria, Mustang historian

Stirling Moss, racer

James Leake Jr., auction company and car collector

Kevin MacKay, owner, Car Life Museum, PEI, Canada

Marty Smith, 18-time national motocross champion

Gale Halderman, Ford Mustang designer

Mark Ketcham, winery owner and car collector

Bill Grams, co-founder of the Volo Auto Museum

Gen. William Lyon, museum founder

Don Orosco, collector and vintage racer

Hans Metzger, Porsche engineer (Boxer engine, 917 race car)

Eppie Wietzes, Canadian racer

Vicki Wood, racing pioneer and Daytona speed record holder

Martin Holmes, World Rally competitor and journalist

Horst Bruning, FIVA president from 2007-2013

John Mooney, co-inventor of the catalytic converter

Phillip Mann, FIVA president from 1972-1977

Rose Mattioli, co-founder and matriarch of Pocono Raceway

Don Hellwig, co-founder of Hellwig Products

Chris Syfert, IMSA racing official timer

Ron Tauranac, Brabham and Ralt race car designer

Yoshihiko Matsuo, designer of the Datsun 240Z

Bob Bahre, car collector and race track builder

Maurice Petty, engine builder, Petty Enterprises racing team

Don Edmonds, Indy 500 rookie of the year and long-time car builder

Jerry Capizzi, Ford collector

Ralph Hudson, land speed record motorcycle racer

John Weinberger, car collector, racer, and founder of Continental Motors Group

John Campion, car collector

Zef Eisenberg, British speed record holder

John Lamm, automotive photographer and author

Jim Pace, Daytona 24 and Sebring 12 winner

Nagin Chouhan, African rally organizer and participant

Bob Fletcher, Indy racing team and track owner and tire retailer

Burdette “Berdie” Martin, chairman of the Automobile Competition Committee of the US. chief steward for multiple racing series, vice president of FIA

Bill Marvel, U.S. Auto Club racing official

Jack Miller, co-founder, Ypsilanti Automotive Heritage Museum and Orphan Car Show

Oscar Kovaleski, Can-Am racer and president of Polish Racing Drivers of America


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts