Home Car Culture Best of the Best judges will select from 8 Best of Show...

Best of the Best judges will select from 8 Best of Show concours winners


Finalists for the “Best of the Best” award have been announced by The Peninsula hotel chain, which for the fifth year in a row will honor what is judged to be the best of the Best of Show winners from major concours d’elegance in the previous year.

“This award is truly a celebration of automotive excellence,” Michael Kadoorie, chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels that sponsors the award and several major collector car events, is quoted in the announcement. 

“These motorcars are works of art, each with a unique history and provenance. Our esteemed panel of judges have their work cut out this year due to the incredible field of contenders.”

The winner will be announced February 2, 2020, during the Retromobile showcase in Paris.

Eligible for the award are:

The 1948 Talbot-Lago T26 Grand Sport Coupé with coachwork by Figoni et Falaschi and the winner of Best of Show at Salon Privé.

The 1938 Mercedes-Benz 540 K Autobahn-Kurier with factory coachwork that won Best of Show at Amelia Island.

The 1958 Ferrari 335 S Spyder with coachwork by Scaglietti that was Best of Show winner at the Cavallino Classic.

The 1950 Abarth 205 Berlinetta with coachwork designed by Michelotti and produced by Vignale that won Best of Show at the Goodwood Cartier Style et Luxe Concours.

The 1931 Bentley 8 Liter Foursome Coupe with coachwork by Freestone & Webb that was Best of Show at the Chantilly Arts & Elegance, Richard Mille.

The 1919 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost Torpedo Skiff with coachwork by Barker that was Best of Show at the Concours of Elegance Hampton Court Palace.

The 1931 Bentley 8-Liter dual-cowl tourer with coachwork by Gurney Nutting that was Best of Show at Pebble Beach.

The 1931 Stutz DV32 Convertible Victoria with coachwork by LeBaron that was Best of Show winner at The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering.

The Best of the Best award was founded by Kadoori, William “Chip” Connor, Bruce Meyer and Christian Philippsen. An international panel of 25 judges will vote decide the winning vehicle.

Larry Edsall
A former daily newspaper sports editor, Larry Edsall spent a dozen years as an editor at AutoWeek magazine before making the transition to writing for the web and becoming the author of more than 15 automotive books. In addition to being founding editor at ClassicCars.com, Larry has written for The New York Times and The Detroit News and was an adjunct honors professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts

- Advertisment - newsletter_signup