Britain’s RAC launches historic awards program

Britain’s RAC launches historic awards program

First presentations scheduled for November 2019

The Royal Automobile Club has announced the introduction of new and annual awards “to recognize excellence and outstanding contributions to the UK’s historic motoring and motorsports industries.” The inaugural awards will be presented November 21, 2019, at a gala at the club’s Pall Mall clubhouse.

Awards poster

“The Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards will reward achievement and innovation by highlighting and celebrating the wide range of companies, clubs, events, associations and individuals responsible for influencing and driving the British historic motoring movement,” the RAC said.

Founded in 1897, the club “has been at the heart of the motoring and motorsport world for over 120 years,” it noted, “and the Awards serve as a natural continuation of the Club’s heritage.”

“The Club has a long history of rewarding endeavors, starting with the first British Grand Prix in 1926,” said Ben Cussons, RAC chairman. “We do everything for the long-term – witness the Veteran Car Run which is over a century old – meaning these awards will become an annual event going forward.”

The RAC said it will announce the various award categories on January 9 and will begin accepting nominations on March 20.

Britain already is the home to the international Historic Motoring Awards, presented each fall in categories ranging from best vehicle restoration, best car museum, best vintage race, etc.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply