HomeThe MarketAlfa Romeo sweeps 2018 Mille Miglia

Alfa Romeo sweeps 2018 Mille Miglia


Ninety years after its first victory in the event, Alfa Romeo again claimed not only victory but the top three places in the 2018 Mille Miglia. The event was the 36th historic re-evocation of the race on public roads in Italy and again followed the traditional Brescia-Rome-Brescia route.

The winning car was a 1933 Alfa C 1500 GS Testa Fissa crewed by the team of  driver Juan Tonconogy and navigator Barbara Ruffini. 

Only eight penalty points behind was a Stabilimenti Farina-bodied 1928 6C 1500 Super Sport from the official FCA Heritage collection. The car is the one that won the race in 1928. This year it was driven this year by Giovanni Moceri with Daniele Bonetti as navigator. Moceri is the reigning Italian Grandi Eventi ACI Sport champion and is a previous winner of the historic Mille Miglia, Targa Florio and Coppa d’Oro delle Dolomiti.

Third went to a 1929 6C 1750 SS Zagato crewed by the team of Andrea Vesco and Andrea Guerini.

Both the second- and third-place cars wore the No. 30.

A record-breaking 450 cars entered the 2018 Mille Miglia. Among those participating were Marcus Ericsson and Charles Leclerc, drivers for the Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 team, who showcased a 1932 Gran Premio Tipo B and a 1955 750 Competizione during the events stop at the Museo Storico Alfa Romeo at Arese and who also greeted the participants when they arrived at the finish line.

Alfa is celebrating its long run of success in the Mille Miglia with a special web project, “Alfa Romeo: The Mille Miglia in 90 places.” The photo gallery can be viewed at a special website.

Larry Edsall
A former daily newspaper sports editor, Larry Edsall spent a dozen years as an editor at AutoWeek magazine before making the transition to writing for the web and becoming the author of more than 15 automotive books. In addition to being founding editor at ClassicCars.com, Larry has written for The New York Times and The Detroit News and was an adjunct honors professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts