HomeCar CultureLifestyleBritish Touring Car Championship celebrates its 60th anniversary

British Touring Car Championship celebrates its 60th anniversary


The 60th anniversary of the British Touring Car Championships will be celebrated this year, starting January 11-14 at the Autosport International show at the NEC in Birmingham, England.

Among the historic vehicles to be featured are the Rover SD1 raced by Steve Soper in 1983 and the Alfa 155 that Gabriele Tarquini drove to the championship in 1994. Also taking part are reigning champion Ash Sutton and former titleists Gordon Shedden, Colin Turkington, Matt Neal and Andrew Jordan.

, British Touring Car Championship celebrates its 60th anniversary, ClassicCars.com Journal
Media day 2016 at Silverstone showcased British Touring Cars

“The British Touring Car Championship has been rewarding fans with wheel-to-wheel action at every race event throughout its illustrious 60 year history,” said Matt James, Motorports News editor. “We cannot wait to celebrate the Diamond Anniversary of the racing that we love so dearly.”

The celebration continues July 20-22 at the Silverstone Classic vintage races, where four generations of “tin-top” racing vehicles will be featured.

, British Touring Car Championship celebrates its 60th anniversary, ClassicCars.com Journal
Back in the day: May 1958 at Silverstone |
LAT Photographic courtesy Silverstone

“These four evocative grids on Tin Top Sunday will be a wonderful tribute to 60 memorable years of great fender-bending BTCC action,” said Nick Wigley, chief executive and organizer of the Silverstone Classic.

“The BTCC boasts an incredible history of thrills and spills stretching right back to 1958 and in its diamond anniversary year we are excited to be celebrating its unrivaled provenance both on and off the track at this summer’s very special Classic.”

Motorsports Hall of Fame announces 2018 inductees

Celebrating its 30th year, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America has announced its Class of 2018 members, who will be inducted into the hall on March 13 in Daytona Beach.

“Our inductee classes are always intriguing but this year is even more so,” said hall of fame president Ron Watson. “Howard Hughes and Jeff Gordon in the same class – that is probably the best example we’ve ever had to illustrate the breadth of our inductee roll.”

Hughes is being inducted in the aviation category for his flying speed records and for building some of the world’s most advanced aircraft. Gordon was elected among stock car racers.

Other members of the Class of ’18 are drag car builder John Buttera, Indianapolis Motor Speedway founder Carl Fisher, motorcycle racer Fred Merkel, Indy car owner U.E. “Pat” Patrick, and sports car racer Bob Tullius.



Larry Edsall
A former daily newspaper sports editor, Larry Edsall spent a dozen years as an editor at AutoWeek magazine before making the transition to writing for the web and becoming the author of more than 15 automotive books. In addition to being founding editor at ClassicCars.com, Larry has written for The New York Times and The Detroit News and was an adjunct honors professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts