Home Uncategorized David Donohue joins Savannah vintage races as grand marshal, panelist

David Donohue joins Savannah vintage races as grand marshal, panelist


The Savannah Speed Classic, a vintage racing program held in conjunction (though a weekend before) the Hilton Head Island Motoring Festival & Concours d’Elegance, has announced two additions to its schedule for the October 27-29 weekend.

David Donohue

First, David Donohue will serve as grand marshal for the event. Donohue is the son of the late Mark Donohue and has raced in several sports car series and even in NASCAR stock cars. His victories include the Rolex 24 at Daytona in 2009.

Second, a special presentation on “100+ Years of Auto Racing in Savanah” will be moderated by former BMW motorsports manager Larry Koch and will feature a panel including Donohue, automotive collector Dale Critz Jr., and Rick Timms, president of the Colonial Motorsports Group and organizer of the Dixie Crystal Grand Prix.

The panel presentation begins at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, October 28, and is open to all pit/paddock ticket holders.

The races and other events take place at the race track at the Westin Savannah Harbor golf resort on Hutchinson Island just across the water from downtown Savannah, Georgia.

Cars on track at Savannah in 2016 Speed Classic

Nearly 150 cars entered in Historic 24 Hour at Daytona

Around 250 drivers from 18 countries are on the entry list for the third Historic 24 Hours at Daytona vintage racing weekend, scheduled November 8-12 by Historic Sportscar Racing. They will drive nearly 150 cars competing in six categories.

The list of drivers includes not only such notables as Andy Wallace, Butch Leitzinger, Lyn St. James, Dieter Quester, Eric Van de Poele, Didier They and others, but also racing engineer Adrian Newey, former NASCAR chief mechanic Ray Evernham and Amelia Island concours founder Bill Warner.

1987 ex-Kremer Racing/Leyton House (14) and 1989 ex-Jochen Dauer Racing Tic Tac (33) are just two of the Porsche 962s entered in the Classic 24 at Daytona | HSR photo

Cars date from the 1960s. They run in their period-correct specification in six groupings. Each group takes to the track four times during the 24-hour competition. Those completing the most distance in the shortest time win group accolades.

“The quality of the historic race cars and the incredible lineup of legendary stars and historic sports car racing drivers that are ready to once again take on the challenge of the Classic 24 Hour at Daytona is amazing,” HRS president David Hinton said in a news release.

The race groups are 1960-1972, 1973-1982, 1980-1990, 1994-2002 and 2003-2015, plus an HSR group for cars that were not eligible to compete at Daytona during their eras.

Jules Gounon races this 1974 No. 88 Esprit Calgary Greenwood Corvette | HSR photo


Larry Edsall
A former daily newspaper sports editor, Larry Edsall spent a dozen years as an editor at AutoWeek magazine before making the transition to writing for the web and becoming the author of more than 15 automotive books. In addition to being founding editor at ClassicCars.com, Larry has written for The New York Times and The Detroit News and was an adjunct honors professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts