HomeCar CultureRacing to the finish line: Four-race stretch wraps up HSR season

Racing to the finish line: Four-race stretch wraps up HSR season


The four-race sprint to the season finish begins this weekend for vintage racers competing in the Historic Sportscar Racing series. The calendar countdown starts this weekend with the Atlanta Fall Historics at Road Atlanta, then goes to Hutchinson Island for the Savannah Speed Classis on October 27-29 before the Classic 24 Hour at Daytona and the Classic 12 Hour at Sebring, November 8-12 and November 29-December 3, respectively.

HSR competitors had a couple months of summertime hiatus to prepare for the four-race season-ending races.

Among highlights during that four-race run are a 1970s-themed reception and barbecue at the Lucky Dog Garage across the street from Road Atlanta, the Thursday Pace Lap Party at and race car parade to historic downtown Savannah’s City Market, and the link to the past provided by parking race cars next to historic aircraft at Hendricks Field, aka the Sebring racing circuit.

Brooklands hosts Autumn Motorsports Festival

Classic car displays and vintage vehicle’s challenging the Brooklands Test Hill will be highlights of the annual Autumn Motorsports Festival, scheduled for October 8 at the Brooklands Museum in England.

Among the vehicles already registered are Dennis Priddle’s “Mr. Revell” dragster, which held front-engine time and speed records for 20 years and plans a four-minute drive up the hill; a 1983 Audi Quattro rally car, the ex-James Hunt 1972 Hesketh Dastles, a Vauxhall Firenza Droop Snoot racer, a Ford Escort RS2000 Group 4 rally car, several 1940s vintage American stock cars and an ex-Nelson Pique Benetton F1 car.

American cars to star at Prescott Speed Hill Climb

Even before the vintage vehicle event at the world’s first purpose-built auto racing facility, another British venue, the Prescott Speed Hill Climb at Chaltenham stages an all-American Stars and Stripes gathering September 30- October 1 featuring special classes for American cars and hot rods.

Contributing to the American theme for the event will be a special area in the Show ‘n Shine for American cars, and what the organizers call “fantastic USA-themed entertainment from the thrilling Demon Drone (motorcycle) Wall of Death to live bands and Vegas Showgirls.”

Can-Am, Indy and NASCAR cars are among those scheduled for the event, organizers said, including a Penske PC22 Indy car, an ex-Penske Sunoco-liveried 1969 Z28 Chevrolet Camaro and the 1977 Chevrolet Camaro driven by Al Unser in the International Race of Champions.

Lime Rock Historic Festival 35 race winners

We’ve already shared Andy Reid’s reactions to the Lime Rock Park Historic Festival 35 held over the Labor Day weekend, but we wanted to share some of the track’s photographs of the action on the circuit (above), and the race results.

Two drivers swept all four of their races — Rich Maloumian Jr. and his 1956 Austin-Healey 100-4 and Ray Mallock in his 1960 Us Mk2 Formula Junior.

Several others won three of four — Jake Clapp in his 1970 Datsun 240Z, Jim Hamblin in his 1968 Porsche 911/ST replica, Peter Giddings in his 1935 Alfa Romeo Tipo C 8C-35, and Rick Bell in his 198 Ralt RT-1.

Richard Atwood (1966 Ford GT40) and David Gussack (1963 Triumph Spitfire) each won twice in their Group 9 races as did Martin Bullock (1963 Lotus 27 Formula Junior) and Joe Colasacco (1962 Stanguellini Delfino Formula Junior) in Group 6.

But the most competitive class was Group 4 which produced four winners — Tom Grudovich in his 1966 Ginetta G4, Graham Adelman in his 1962 Lotus 23, Craig Chima in his 1962 Lotus Super 7 and Dave Handy in his 1962 Lotus 23.

Larry Edsall
Larry Edsall
A former daily newspaper sports editor, Larry Edsall spent a dozen years as an editor at AutoWeek magazine before making the transition to writing for the web and becoming the author of more than 15 automotive books. In addition to being founding editor at ClassicCars.com, Larry has written for The New York Times and The Detroit News and was an adjunct honors professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Posts