Home Uncategorized 10 major moments in Mercedes-Benz early racing history

10 major moments in Mercedes-Benz early racing history


The following are 10 major moments in the early history of Mercedes-Benz’ involvement in motorsports:


1908Christian Lautenschläger and mechanic Meckle win the French Grand Prix near Dieppe in a Mercedes 140-horsepower racer
1910Barney Oldfield exceeds 131 miles per hour for a "flying mile" in record runs on the beach at Ormond Bay near Daytona Beach, Fla.
1911Bob Burman and the 200-horsepower "Blitzen Benz" set speed records at Daytona Beach
1914Ralph de Palma wins the Vanderbilt race at Santa Monica in a 37/95-hp Mercedes.
1922Count Giulio Masetti wins the Targa Florio in a 115-horsepower Mercedes Grand Prix racer.
1928Mercedes SS racing touring cars sweep the German Grand Prix at the Nurburgring.
1931Rudolf Caracciola and Wilhelm Sebastian win the Mille Miglia, a first for a foreigner in Italy's 1000-mile test.
1935Rudolf Caracciola and his "Silver Arrow" Mercedes-Benz W25 win the French Grand Prix.
1936Rudolf Caracciola sets speed records in a streamlined Mercedes-Benz W25 on the Darmstadt motorway.
1937Manfred von Brauchitsch wins with teammate Rudolf Caracciola second around Loews corner on their way to a 1-2 finish in the Monaco Grand Prix.

Photos courtesy Mercedes-Benz

Larry Edsall
A former daily newspaper sports editor, Larry Edsall spent a dozen years as an editor at AutoWeek magazine before making the transition to writing for the web and becoming the author of more than 15 automotive books. In addition to being founding editor at ClassicCars.com, Larry has written for The New York Times and The Detroit News and was an adjunct honors professor at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.

Recent Posts